Remembering a great musician

Granger_sfsymphonyLawrence Granger was originally scheduled to play as cello soloist with the Silicon Valley Symphony for this concert.  Larry, cellist in the San Francisco Symphony for 30 years, donated his time as Principal Cello at many rehearsals, inspiring the section and raising the spirit of the entire orchestra.   He also gave numerous musical and personnel recommendations that have contributed significantly to increased quality performance.  Sadly Mr. Granger passed away on Sunday, June 14, 2009.  He was diagnosed with cancer earlier in the week, underwent surgery that was seemingly successful, but succumbed to heart failure two days later.  The entire musical community has lost a great man and he will be missed by all.  We dedicate this concert to the memory of Lawrence Granger.


Artwork by
Katja Battarbee

Tribute to Lawrence Granger

Friday 20 November 2009: 7:30 pm
     Venue:  Presbyterian Church of Los Gatos
      Map:    16575 Shannon Road, Los Gatos, CA 95032
Saturday 21 November 2009: 7:30 pm
     Venue:  Holy Trinity Episcopal Church
      Map:   330 Ravenswood Avenue, Menlo Park, CA 94025

Brahms:  Symphony No. 2 in D Major, Op. 73

  1. Allegro non troppo
  2. Adagio non troppo
  3. Allegretto grazioso (quasi andantino)
  4. Allegro con spirito

Camille Saint-SaŽns:  Cello Concerto No. 1 in A Minor, Op. 33
             Peter Wyrick, Cello Soloist
                                (Associate Principal SF Symphony)

  1. Allegro no troppo
  2. Allegretto con moto
  3. Tempo I: Allegro no troppo

Peter Ilyitch Tschaikowsky:  Nutcracker Suite

  • I.   Overture miniature
  • II.  Danses caractťristiques
    • a.  Marche
    • b.  Dance of the Sugar-Plum Fairy
    • c.  Danse russe trepak
    • d.  Danse Arabe (Coffee)
    • e.  Danse Chinoise (Tea)
    • f.  Danse des Mirlitons
  • III.  Valse des Fleurs

Johannes Brahms

Peter Wyrick

Peter Wyrick


Camille Saint-SaŽns

Peter Ilyitch Tschaikowsky

Peter Ilyitch Tschaikowsky


Web Design by BACH to Music © 2009
© Copyright 2009 Silicon Valley Symphony  All rights reserved.