A fantastic flute feast

Brian Bensing, Flute SoloistOur Principal Flutist, Brian Bensing is featured flute soloist playing the beautiful and haunting Concerto for Flute and Orchestra by Lowell Liebermann written in 1992.  The flute concerto is a modern piece with elegant melodies, unbelievable fireworks for the flute soloist, very recognizable structure, all blended together to excite and please the musical ear.  This is a highly listenable piece with exciting appeal -- it is not another  a-tonal modern contemporary composition.  You will love it!  “Fantasia on ‘Greensleeves’” is arranged from the opera “Sir John in Love” by Ralph Greaves.  The 41st Symphony is the last of a set of three that Mozart composed in rapid succession during the summer of 1788, and his last symphony.  The work is nicknamed the Jupiter Symphony. This name stems not from Mozart but rather was likely coined by the impresario Johann Peter Salomon in an early arrangement for piano.





If you stopped paying attention to classical music after Britten and Shostakovitch died, it’s time to tune in again.  The famous flautist” (Galway) “has put his weight behind one of America’s most gifted “new tonalist” composers, with electrifying results.  Liebermann’s three concertos are custom-made for listeners who find 12-tone music ugly and minimalism simple-minded.  The harmonies are savory, the scoring luminous -- and yes, you can hum the tunes.”

Terry Teachout TIME Magazine

Flute & Fantasia by Katja Battarbee

Original Artwork by Katja Battarbee © 2011

Flute & Fantasia
Friday 18 March 2011: 7:30 pm
     Venue:  Holy Trinity Episcopal Church
      Map:   330 Ravenswood Avenue, Menlo Park, CA 94025

Saturday 19 March 2011: 7:30 pm

     Venue:  Saint Marks Episcopal Church
      Map:   600 Colorado Avenue, Palo Alto, CA 94306

Mozart :  Symphony No. 41  in C Major, KV 551 “Jupiter”  (10 August 1788)

  1. Allegro vivace
  2. Andante cantabile
  3. Menuetto (Allegretto)
  4. Molto allegro

Vaughan Williams :  Fantasia on ”Greensleeves” (1934)

Lowell Liebermann:  Concerto for Flute and Orchestra, Op. 32 (1992)
             Brian Bensing, Flute Soloist

    I.  Moderato
    II.  Molto Adagio
    III.  Presto

W.A. Mozart

W. A. Mozart

Ralph Vaughan Williams

Ralph Vaughan Williams

Lowell Liebermann

Lowell Liebermann

Purchase Tickets Online

Tickets are available online for no additional charge until 24 hours before the concert.  Online tickets need to be picked up at the “Will Call” desk up to 45 minutes before the concert.  You can order below, or goto our TICKETS webpage for complete instructions and to order tickets.

If you do not obtain tickets in advance, tickets are still available at the door beginning 30 minutes before the concert.  Please bring cash or checks.  We do not accept credit cards.

Online Ticket Sales are now Closed.  You may purchase tickets at the door 30 minutes before the concert.  Online ticket sales closes 24 hours before the first concert of a 2-concert set.

Add your name to our email list...

If you would like to be added to our email list for concert notification, please click here.

Help support the Silicon Valley Symphony...

Ticket prices cover only a portion of our operating costs.  Your generous donations can help us continue to bring high-quality classical music to our community.  Please visit our support pages -- thanks so much.  You might even consider sponsoring just one of our rehearsals....




more information


Web Design by BACH to Music © 2011
© Copyright 2011 Silicon Valley Symphony  All rights reserved.